1,99,38,247 voters can participate in LS elections 2024: Haryana Chief Electoral Officer

Haryana Chief Electoral Officer, Anurag Agarwal has said that in Haryana 1,99,38,247 voters can participate in the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections.


Mr Agarwal said that in the previous Lok Sabha elections, approximately 70 per cent voter turnout was recorded in Haryana. There are 1 crore 99 lakh 38 thousand 247 voters in the state, with 2,64,760 voters aged over 85. Similarly, there are 11,028 voters over 100 years old, and 41 voters over 120 years old. Arrangements will be made for voters to choose between voting at polling stations or from their homes. The number of service voters is 1,08,572. The number of voters in the age group of 18 to 19 is 3,65,504 and the number of voters in the age group of 20 to 29 is 39,31,717.


There will be a total of 19,812 polling stations in the state, including 6,224 urban and 13,588 rural polling stations, with 2,289 vulnerable and 63 critical polling stations. Each polling station will accommodate an average of 1,001 voters, with all necessary facilities ensured.


Mr. Agarwal mentioned that 15 companies of central armed police forces have already arrived, and the Home Ministry has requested for 200 more companies. Additionally, Haryana Police and home guard personnel will be deployed for security during the elections.


Regarding recruitment processes during the election period by the Haryana Staff Selection Commission and the Haryana Public Service Commission, he said permission will be sought from the Election Commission for immediate appointments if required.


He stated that the notification for elections will be issued on April 29. The deadline for filing nominations is May 6. The scrutiny of nominations will be done on May 7, and candidates can withdraw their nominations until May 9. Voting will take place on May 25, followed by counting on June 4. The entire election process will be completed before June 6. Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) machines will also be placed at all polling stations.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top