Eleven Candidates File Nominations for Manipur Parliamentary Seats

In Manipur, till the last hours of filing of nomination papers, eleven candidates have filed their nomination papers for two seats in Manipur Parliamentary Constituencies. Nine candidates filed their nomination papers today.

Today six candidates including incumbent State Education Minister Thounaojam Basantakumar, who is contesting on a BJP ticket filed their nomination papers at the Returning Officer of Inner Manipur Parliamentary Constituency. Other candidates are – Professor Angomcha Bimol Akoijam from INC, Maheswar Thounaojam from RPI (A), Moirangthem Totonsana Nongsaba from Rashtriya Janhit Sangharsh Party, Ngasekpam Nilakanta Singh from Universal Family Party and Independent candidate  H. Sarat Singh.

Manipur film actor R.K. Somerendro who is contesting on MPP ticket has already filed his nomination in the Inner seat.

In the Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituency, four candidates submitted their nomination papers till this evening. INC candidate Alfred Kangam Arthur and two Independent candidates submitted their nomination papers to the RO of the Outer Manipur Lok Sabha seat today. The NPF candidate K. Timothy Zimik had already submitted his nomination for the seat thus becoming four candidates to file nomination papers in the Outer Manipur Lok Sabha seats.

Scrutiny of the nomination papers, both Inner and Outer will be held tomorrow (Thursday). The polls for two seats in Manipur will go on in two phases on the 19th and 26th of April.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top