Gaya parliamentary constituency of Bihar, polling to be held on 19th April

In Gaya parliamentary constituency of Bihar, polling will be held on 19th April in the first phase of Lok Sabha elections. After the end of withdrawal of candidature 14 candidates are in the fray. Among them, seven independents are also trying their electoral fortune. Gaya is the land of enlightenment of Lord Buddha and land of Dashrath Manjhi also. In the 18th Lok Sabha elections, the main electoral fight is expected between former Chief Minister and Hindustani Awam Morcha leader Jitan Ram Manjhi and RJDs’ Kumar Sarvjeet.

In the high-profile Gaya Lok Sabha constituency more than 18 lakh voters will decide the electoral fate of 14 candidates. The seat is represented by JD(U) but in a seat sharing agreement in the NDA Gaya Lok Sabha seat has been  allocated to Hindustani Awam Morcha. In 2019 Vijay Manjhi was elected MP from here on JD(U) ticket. Jitan Ram Manjhi of Hindustani Awam Morcha is trying his electoral luck third time from this seat after losing twice in 2014 and 2019. RJD nominee Kumar Sarvjeet is present MLA from Bodhgaya and he was agriculture minister in the previous government. Sushma Kumari from BSP is also in the fray. Several areas of this parliamentary constituency are naxal affected. Voting will take place at naxal affected polling booths of Sherghati, Barachatti and Bodhgaya between 7 am to 4 pm.


Despite being an international hot spot for pilgrims, lack of development, poverty, unemployment and problem of traffic jams in urban areas are major issues of Gaya Lok Sabha constituency.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top