Karnataka: 247 candidates remain in fray after withdrawal of nominations ends

In Karnataka, 247 candidates remain in fray after the withdrawal of nominations came to an end on Monday (8th April 2024) for the II Phase of  Lok Sabha elections in 14 seats. The commission had received nominations from 358 candidates, out of which only nominations of 300 candidates were found valid and thereafter 53 candidates withdrew their nominations thereby reducing the number of candidates to 247. Out of these, 226 are male and 21 female candidates. Bangalore South parliamentary seat has the highest of 29 candidates and lowest of nine candidates are in Dakshina Kannada seat. Some of the prominent candidates in fray are Tejasvi Surya, Somanna, Dr. C N Manjunath and P C Mohan from BJP, D K Suresh, Mansoor Ali Khan, K V Gowtham and Sowmya Reddy from Congress and H D Kumaraswamy from JD(S).

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top