Lakshadweep will go to polls in first phase on the 19th of April

Lakshadweep, the country’s smallest Lok Sabha constituency, in terms of number of voters, will go to polls in the first phase on the 19th of April. The UT has one Lok Sabha constituency, reserved for Scheduled Tribes (ST).


There are four candidates in the fray for the General Election in Lakshadweep constituency. The Incumbent MP and NCP Sharat Pawar party candidate Mohammad Faisal, Former MP and Indian National Congress candidate Hamdulillah Sayed, the BJP-supported NCP Ajit Pawar party candidate TP Yusuf and independent candidate K. Koya compete for the single Loksabha seat in Lakshadweep. Preparations are in full swing for the election. 55 booths are there across 10 islands.57,784 voters are currently present in the electoral roll. The election campaigns are progressing, with local and national issues coming up into intense debates. In the last election in 2019, the NCP candidate Muhammad Faisal won with a majority of just 823 votes. Many parties such as JDU, CPIM, and CPI who had contested in 2019 are not competing this time. Their votes and the nearly 2000 first-time voters will be crucial in the island’s verdict. Lakshadweep is sure to witness strong competition this time, between three major candidates, which may even lead to a photo finish.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top