Nitish Kumar government wins trust vote in Bihar Assembly

Last Updated: Feb 12, 2024

NPIC 202421216193
Tweeted By AIR

In Bihar, the Nitish Kumar led NDA government won the vote of trust in the state assembly amid the walkout of opposition Grand Alliance members. 129 members including three RJD MLAs Chetan Anand, Neelam Devi and Prahlad Yadav supported the motion in favour of the Nitish Kumar government.

In the House of 243 members one MLA of JD(U) abstained from the voting. One member of AIMIM voted against the vote of confidence, opposing the leadership of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.

Deputy Speaker Maheshwar Hazari presided over the proceedings of the House during the trust vote and the fate of the Nitish Kumar government was decided by headcount.

Speaking in the favour of vote of confidence Chief Minister Nitish Kumar said that he was not comfortable in the Grand Alliance as the RJD was making impedance in the way of development of Bihar. Mr. Kumar said, he has now moved to his natural alliance and there is no question of walking out from NDA.

Earlier, Chief Minister Nitish Kumar moved the motion of vote of trust in the Assembly and a brief discussion was held in which members of Ruling and Opposition parties participated.

During the discussion, former Deputy Chief Minister and RJD leader Tejashwi Prasad Yadav strongly criticized Chief Minister Nitish Kumar over his flip-flop politics. Mr. Yadav said, the leadership of Nitish Kumar is unreliable.

Deputy Chief Ministers Samrat Choudhary and Vijay Kumar Sinha attacked the RJD alleging that the party is patronizing the politics of dynasty and corruption.

Earlier, RJD-Congress led Grand Alliance, received two big jolts in the House. The vote of no confidence brought by NDA was adopted in the House following which the incumbent Speaker Awadh Bihari Choudhary was removed. 125 members supported the motion from NDA whereas 112 members opposed it. In an unexpected move three members of RJD crossed the floor and supported the Nitish government. RJD, Congress and members of the Left parties opposed this move.

The Budget session of the State Legislature started this morning with the address of Governor Rajendra Vishwanath Arleakr to the joint sitting of the Bihar Legislature in the Central Hall of the Assembly.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top