Political uncertainty in Bihar likely to end today with formation of new government in the State

Last Updated: Jan 28, 2024

NPIC 20241287532

In Bihar, the situation of political uncertainty is expected to end today with the formation of a new government in the State led by BJP and JD(U). Sources said that Chief Minister Nitish Kumar is likely to first resign and then give a letter of support of his party and BJP MLAs to Governor Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar. The oath-taking ceremony is also expected to take place today at Rajbhavan.

BJP and JD(U) are negotiating over a new formula and settlement for the formation of a new government in the State. Before taking the final call, BJP and JD(U) legislators will meet in Patna today. Earlier, BJP legislators and members of the Party Core Committee held several rounds of meetings yesterday for the formalisation of support to Nitish Kumar. Chief Minister and JD(U) President Nitish Kumar also held a meeting of his Party MLAs and senior leaders at his residence in Patna to discuss the situation last evening.

RJD has said that its Ministers will not resign and the party will not withdraw support from the Grand Alliance government. The decision was taken in the meeting of party legislators, MPs and other senior leaders in Patna. All the MLAs authorised party Chief Lalu Prasad to take any decision in prevailing political uncertainty.

In the 243-member Bihar Assembly BJP has 78 members and JD(U) has 45. For the formation of government support of 122 members is required. Four members of former Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi led Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) are already with BJP. With these equations, BJP and JD(U) are well in a position to form a new government in Bihar. Presently, RJD-JD(U) led-Grand Alliance has the support of 160 MLAs which comprises 79 members of RJD, 45 of JD(U) 19 of Congress and 16 from Left Parties. One Independent is also supporting the alliance.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top