Sourav Ganguly picks India squad for World Cup, veteran spinner misses out | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: Former Indian captain Sourav Ganguly has picked his squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023. The roster features some notable decisions, particularly surrounding the inclusion of players recuperating from injuries.
Among the 15 selected players who have recently returned from injuries, KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer find themselves in a position where they need to demonstrate their match fitness convincingly.

Ganguly’s strategic approach emphasises a formidable batting lineup for the national team. The top order is anchored by the trio of Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, and Ishan Kishan. In the middle order, a blend of experience and talent is orchestrated with the presence of Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, and Suryakumar Yadav.

Addressing the wicketkeeping responsibilities, Ganguly has identified Kishan and Rahul as potential candidates. Adding to the team’s strength, Hardik Pandya has been designated as the vice-captain.
Within the all-rounder category, the spin options are ably represented by Ravindra Jadeja and Akshar Patel, while Kuldeep Yadav secures his place as the solitary specialist spinner in the squad.
Ganguly did not pick Tilak Varma and Yuzvendra Chahal into the side but said that if any of the players turned unfit then they would be his first choice.

“If one of the middle-order batters gets unfit, then Tilak Varma [would come in],” Ganguly told Star Sports. “If one of the fast bowlers gets unfit; then Prasidh Krishna; if one of the spinners gets unfit, then Yuzvendra Chahal.”
“I’ll always pick Chahal. I’ll always pick wrist spinners, I don’t know what the selectors think but I’d always pick wrist spinners,” he added.
“You need youth, a good team is a mixture of youth and experience. So you need the flamboyance of youth, the fearlessness of youth along with the season campaigners like Rohit, Virat, Rahul, Jadeja and Pandya. You need somebody to just go fearless,” Ganguly concluded.
Sourav Ganguly’s Indian squad for World Cup: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Hardik Pandya (VC), Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur.
(With ANI Inputs)

Thanks for Visiting Sarkari Results Daily (

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top