UP will be held in all 7 phases, starting from 19th of this month; State has total of 80 LS constituencies

In our series, covering profiles of key constituencies across States and Union Territories during the Lok Sabha elections, today we bring you a report on Muzaffarnagar seat in Uttar Pradesh. Polling in Uttar Pradesh will be held in all seven phases, starting from the 19th of this month. The state has a total of 80 Lok Sabha constituencies. Eight constituencies will be covered in the first phase. These include the high profile seat of Muzaffarnagar from where BJP has fielded two-time MP and Union Minister Dr. Sanjeev Balyan. Former MP Harendra Malik of Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party’s Dara Singh Prajapati are the other two candidates in the fray from Muzaffarnagar seat. Eight independent candidates are also contesting the elections from the constituency.


Akashvani Correspondent reports that Muzaffarnagar Lok Sabha constituency consists of five assembly seats. This includes four assembly constituencies of Muzaffarnagar district: Budhana, Charthawal, Khatauli and Muzaffarnagar. Sardhana is an assembly constituency of Meerut district. The number of voters in Muzaffarnagar Lok Sabha seat is 18 lakh 10 thousand 628. BJP has declared Union Minister of State Dr. Sanjeev Balyan as its candidate for the third time. He had won this seat in the 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha elections.


In 2019, there was a direct contest between RLD’s Chaudhary Ajit Singh and Sanjeev Balyan. SP, BSP and Congress had given their support to Ajit Singh in the elections. In this election, Sanjeev Baliyan had won by 6526 votes in a tough contest against Chaudhary Ajit Singh of RLD. This time Rashtriya Lok Dal has come together with BJP. In 2019, 10 candidates were in the fray for the Lok Sabha seat and this time 11 candidates are in the fray. If we talk about the history of Muzaffarnagar Lok Sabha seat, till now no one has been able to win here thrice. Only Sanjeev Baliyan and Sumat Prasad Jain could win elections here twice each.
Former Prime Minister Chaudhary Charan Singh, former Home Minister Mufti Mohammad Sayeed, Chaudhary Ajit Singh have been among the main leaders who won and lost on this seat.
Mufti Mohammad Sayeed once won here and became the Home Minister of the country. For the second time he was defeated by BJP’s Naresh Balyan.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top